Weekly Blog Roundup: Sept 2 – Sept 8

9 Sep

Hi everyone! Here we go again with my weekly blog roundup:

RMS_Titanic_Southampton_April_10_1912

The RMS Titanic in Southampton on April 10 in 1912

On The Virginia Woolf Blog I posted Virginia Woolf’s Fascination with the Titanic. In this post I discuss Virginia’s interest in the Titanic disaster and how she even toyed with the idea of writing about it.

African_American_soldiers_at_abandoned_farmhouse_in_Dutch_Gap_Virginia_1864.

Two African-American soldiers at an abandoned farmhouse in Dutch Gap, Virginia in 1864

On The Civil War Saga I posted African-American POWs and the Lieber Code. In this post I discuss the Confederate army selling captured black soldiers into slavery and the groundbreaking human rights law that Lincoln signed to stop it.

On History of Massachusetts I posted The Disturbance of the Indian Shore Cemetery. In this post I discuss when the gravestones of an Indian burial ground in Lakeville were moved to make way for development projects.

Lakeville_Assawompsett_Pond_Map_1893

Map of Lakeville, Ma, circa 1893

I really enjoy writing about people who have often been ignored and overlooked in the history books so I plan on writing a lot more about Native-Americans, African-Americans and women in future posts. This includes a series of posts about Squanto from Plymouth, the role of Native-Americans in the Civil War and some more posts about female Civil War soldiers. If you have any blog post ideas, let me know!

