My Weekly Blog Roundup: Aug 19 – Aug 25

26 Aug

Hello! It’s that time again. Here’s my weekly blog roundup:

Rupert Brooke in 1915

On The Virginia Woolf Blog I posted When Virginia Woolf Went Skinny Dipping With Rupert Brooke. In this post I discuss the time Virginia visited her friend, a poet named Rupert Brooke, in Cambridge and went for a midnight swim with him in the nude.

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

On The Civil War Saga I posted Dinosaurs in Gettysburg. In this post I discuss the historic Gettysburg battlefield and a series of dinosaur footprints discovered there in 1937.

Abe Lincoln in 1847

On History of Massachusetts I posted Abraham Lincoln’s Massachusetts Ancestors. In this post I detail Lincoln’s family history, including his first ancestor to settle in the New World, Samuel Lincoln of Hingham, Mass.

If you haven’t gotten a chance yet, check out the History of Massachusetts’ new Library Corner, where you’ll find digitized copies of many historical books about the history of Massachusetts.  Next week the Civil War Saga will get a Library Corner as well, so keep a look out.

