My Weekly Blog Roundup: July 8 – July 14

15 Jul

Hi again! Here goes my weekly blog roundup:

Asheham HouseOn The Virginia Woolf Blog I posted Did Virginia Woolf Live in a Haunted House? In this post I discuss Virginia’s rented cottage, Asheham house, and how the allegedly haunted house served as the inspiration for her short story “A Haunted House.”

John Wilkes BoothOn The Civil War Saga I posted Abraham Lincoln was a Fan of John Wilkes Booth. In this post I describe how Lincoln admired Booth’s work as an actor so much he invited him to the White House so they could meet.

Henry David Thoreau

On History of Massachusetts I posted Henry David Thoreau Arrested for Nonpayment of Poll Tax. In this post I detail the events that led to Thoreau’s arrest in 1846 and his surprising reaction.

I’ve been getting a lot of nice comments and emails from readers and history fans and I have to say that they really make my day! Thanks so much for the kind words everyone! It’s so nice to hear from you all!

Be sure to check out my brand new Virginia Woolf Store on the Virginia Woolf Blog! It has everything a Virginia Woolf fan needs!

 

Leave a Reply

